HALAL & HARAM E-NUMBERS

COMMON FOOD INGREDIENTS AND ADDITIVES

Opinion on the permissibility of food ingredients and additives made from animal sources.

Listed on the following pages are common food ingredients and additives that many food products contain. Some of these ingredients and additives can be made from animal or plant sources or produced synthetically. The ingredients which are made from plant or produced synthetically are Halal.

All food ingredients and additives produced from animals which were not slaughtered according to Islamic rite or from the pig are Haram and not suitable for Muslims to consume, and Any food product, ingredient or additive containing alcohol or produced with the use of alcohol is Haram and unsuitable for Halal use.

 Substance

Description

Islamic Opinion

Acetic Acid Occurs naturally in plant juices and can be prepared synthetically and can be obtained from animal tissues.n Halal if it is made from plant sources or synthetically. If it is made from animal tissues, then it will not be Halal
Adipic Acid Occurs naturally in beets and can be prepared synthetically. As the source is plant, it is Halal.
Agar Agar Naturally occurs as seaweed, used in place of gelatine As the source is plant, it is Halal.
Beta-apo-8- Carotenal (C30) (Apocarotenal) (E160e) An orange/yellow colour derived from plants but may utilise gelatine or lard to dissolve in water. If lard or gelatine made from animal (other than fish) is used then it will not be suitable for Halal use.
Carmine / Cochineal (E120) A colour obtained from a dried female insect, cochineal It is not suitable for Halal use.
Casein A protein of milk used in the manufacture of cheeses. It is precipitated by acid or by animal or vegetable enzymes. If animal enzyme is used then it will not be suitable for Halal use.
Chocolate Liquor Syrup made from chocolate and used for chocolate flavoured products. It is not liquor or alcohol but because it is a liquid it is called liquor. It is suitable for Halal use.
Dextrose (corn syrup) Made from starch, used as a sweetener or colouring agent. As the source is plant, it is suitable for Halal use.
E153 Carbon Black A colour obtained by charring bones, meat, blood, wood, vegetable etc. If charred from wood or vegetables then it will be suitable for Halal use.
E322 Lecithin An emulsifier originally obtained from egg yolk but commercially prepared from Soya bean oil It is suitable for Halal use.